Protective styles – French Braids

It’s getting colder, winter is coming. I’m not one for protective styles other than putting my hair in a middle part with a bun. I really wanted to do something different, but weave would mean killing my leave out with straighteners, and curly hair/wigs make me feel fake, and I love braids on other people but would never do them on myself and then I saw these two pictures and thought… I wonder how this would look on me. Low maintenance, could do them myself, less than £5 for the extension hair (I bought two packs because they always tangle and I have no patience).


 I thought the one with 4+ plaits might make me look a tad ghetto, and I was unsure I would be able to add the extension with my hair so I opted for the 2 French plaits instead.

For a first time attempt, Ii feel my hair looks pretty good. I used eco styler and coconut oil along with big hair milk to moisturise my hair before hand and style.

I then plaited each side adding bits of extension and put an elastic at the bottom.

I was really worried at how puffy the ends looked at first as they looked rediculous.

As you can see above the ends are soon fluffy and fake looking, so I had a thought to put the ends of my pigtails in boiled water. I’ve heard of people doing this with extensions so I used the boiling hot water to seal them and this is the end result below

What do you think? Would you opt for a protective style like this?

Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 01.04.04

One thought on “Protective styles – French Braids

  1. Love your hair and wish you posted more to help us peasants know how you did this so easily! Your hair is gorgeous! Hopefully I can achieve it on my own with a little YouTube assistance! Ha!

    Like

Leave a comment